New York, WDI, Women's

Canisius Women’s Lacrosse Releases 2013 Schedule

0 Comments 17 January 2013

Eight home games and trips to Louisville, Ohio State and Boston College highlight the 2013 schedule for the Canisius College women’s lacrosse team – the two-time defending MAAC Champions – announced by head coach Scott Teeter on Thursday.

“We have put together a very challenging non-conference schedule to help prepare us to defend our MAAC Championship,” Teeter said. “It is exciting for us to have Cornell come here for the first time and we also have great trips to Louisville, Ohio State and Boston College. We have a goal of becoming the first MAAC school to win three-straight conference titles and there will be a lot of challenges along the way if we want to reach that goal – both in and out of conference.”

The Griffs open the 2013 slate with a road contest at Louisville on Feb. 10 as the schools are set to meet for the first time. Canisius then returns to Buffalo to square off with Cornell on Feb. 23. The Griffs are also set to host Long Island (March 14), Duquesne (March 17), Monmouth (March 19) and St. Bonaventure (March 25) in non-conference action, while playing at Binghamton (March 2), Robert Morris (March 6), Ohio State (March 10) and Boston College (April 20).

Canisius opens defense of its MAAC titles on March 30, hosting Iona in their conference opener. The Griffs also welcome Siena (April 10) and Marist (April 27) to the Demske Sports Complex, while playing at Niagara (April 3), Manhattan (April 6) and Fairfield (April 13).

The top four teams in the MAAC regular season qualify for the 2013 MAAC Championship at Marist with the winner earning an automatic bid to the 26-team NCAA Tournament. The semifinals are set for May 3 with the championship game slated for May 5.

The two-time defending MAAC Champions, Canisius finished the 2012 campaign with a 10-9 record. Seven starters and 15 letterwinners return in 2013 as the Griffs attempt to become the first team in MAAC history to win three-straight titles.

2013 Schedule:

 

Date Opponent Location Time (ET)
  Sun, Feb 10  Louisville Louisville, Ky.   12:00 PM
  Sat, Feb 23  Cornell Demske Sports Complex   2:00 PM
  Sat, Mar 02  Binghamton Vestal, N.Y.   4:00 PM
  Wed, Mar 06  Robert Morris Moon Township, Pa.   4:00 PM
  Sun, Mar 10  Ohio State Columbus, Ohio   12:00 PM
  Thu, Mar 14  Long Island Demske Sports Complex   4:00 PM
  Sun, Mar 17  Duquesne Demske Sports Complex   2:00 PM
  Tue, Mar 19  Monmouth Demske Sports Complex   4:00 PM
  Mon, Mar 25  St. Bonaventure Demske Sports Complex   4:00 PM
  Sat, Mar 30  Iona * Demske Sports Complex   2:00 PM
  Wed, Apr 03  Niagara * Lewiston, N.Y.   7:00 PM
  Sat, Apr 06  Manhattan * Riverdale, N.Y.   5:00 PM
  Wed, Apr 10  Siena * Demske Sports Complex   7:15 PM
  Sat, Apr 13  Fairfield * Fairfield, Conn.   11:00 AM
  Sat, Apr 20  Boston College Chestnut Hill, Mass.   1:00 PM
  Sat, Apr 27  Marist * Demske Sports Complex   11:00 AM
MAAC Tournament
  Fri, May 03  MAAC Semifinals Poughkeepsie, N.Y.   TBA
  Sun, May 05  MAAC Championship Poughkeepsie, N.Y.   TBA

* – denotes conference event

Share your view

Post a comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

 

To receive a daily email of lax news, just enter your email address:

 Delivered by FeedBurner

© 2017 Lax Daily. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes

CLOSE
CLOSE